ELEPHANT APPRECIATION DAY?

I heard this morning that today is Elephant Appreciation Day. elephantNot sure how that would have even gotten started or why. But, while I’m sure it speaks to many of the animal activists in the world, and I can certainly appreciate that, I am more drawn to yesterday’s honored occasion…World Gratitude Day.

It seems that back in 1965, an international gathering of people in Hawaii decided that September 21 would be a perfect day to celebrate all that they were grateful for. And, from that, World Day of Gratitude was born and has stood the test of time. I bring this up, because seeing this, I was reminded of the days when I was a part of the real estate community. I used to attend motivational seminars on a regular basis, and recall especially, the Brian Buffini series, and their focus on beginning every day with a list of your “gratitudes”…those things for which you are thankful. This isn’t difficult. No matter what is going on in your life, you can always find something to be grateful for. And reminding yourself of those things is a great way to start the day. Gratitude is an attitude, and when you accept that attitude as your own on a daily basis, it can change your entire outlook on life…not only how others see you and relate to you, but, also, how you see yourself.

When I saw the reference to World Gratitude Day on Facebook, I was reminded of that and how we should celebrate our gratitude, not just on that one day, but every day. Therefore, I thought I would share with you, a post written by one of my favorite authors, Anne Lamott.  On World Gratitude Day. Enjoy.

I’m grateful for all of my family, friends and followers and hope that you all have a great day!

Later.

Leave a Reply

