MINE EYES HAVE SEEN THE GLORY…

No one spends any time thinking about the fact that they can see. Right? It’s just a blessing that we enjoy without thinking about it. But consider all of the glorious things you experience in life because of your ability to see them.  The faces of those you love…the magnificence of the oceans…the majesty of the mountains…the happy, the sad, the beautiful, the ugly and on and on and on. It is so hard to comprehend life without sight.

I have been forced to live with the knowledge of that possibility becoming a reality for some time now, though I had never really given it a lot of thought. It has been years since I was diagnosed with Dry AMD …earlier than most…but in the last several years, because of the rate at which it is progressing, I have been warned repeatedly that I am at high risk for Wet AMD, the more advanced and serious form of the disease which often leads to loss of central vision.

Following cataract surgery last June, I was given a new lease on life with the correction of my vision to 20/30…not as good as many experience but a significant improvement for me. But, my euphoria was short-lived when my 6 month follow-up showed that the improvement I had experienced last summer had completely disappeared. My eye doctor believed that the AMD might have advanced to the Wet version and scheduled me into the Retina Clinic. That was a cold day in February when I checked into the clinic expecting bad news. So, I was extremely excited when the doctor, following his exam, told me that he was virtually certain that it had not yet progressed. But, because of the rapid deterioration of my vision, he wanted to recheck in a month. So, I did that – today.

One of the ways that they have you monitor the progression and watch for changes is through the use of an Amsler grid. You cover one eye and look at the grid. All of the lines should appear straight and all areas sharp.

If you experience any waviness in the lines, or areas that are gray, it can signal major problems. I will admit that I have never bothered much with the grid. Despite what they told me, I never really felt like it was going to become an issue for me. But since January, I have been doing a better job of checking so was quite upset to discover that some of the lines had now become a little wavy. That is why, when I showed up for my appointment this morning, I was once again steeling myself for possible bad news. But it wasn’t. Well, it was, but not THAT bad.

He still believes that my AMD has not progressed to Wet, though, again, cautioning me that it is a very strong possibility. What he believes is causing my vision issues right now is a macular pucker or wrinkle, known in scientific terms as an Epiretinal Membrane. He believes that it accounts for the waviness I am seeing in the grid as well as the fuzziness in the vision in my right eye. It can cause swelling in the macula and hence, distortion in your vision. The good news is, he said that it appears as though there has been a small decrease in the amount of swelling since my last appointment. Hopefully, there will be more. No guarantees. I did google it when I got home to look for possible causes and treatments. I noticed that this sometimes happens following eye surgery. Hmmm. Could it have resulted from my cataract surgery? He didn’t say that and I am not a doctor but sounds like a possibility to me. I also found that in some cases with severe loss of vision, they can perform surgery to remove the wrinkle, thereby restoring some of the vision you have lost but it appears as though that is a last resort. Whew – so here’s the deal. It is NOT, at this point, Wet AMD. There is a possibility, if some more of the swelling recedes, I will regain some of the vision that has been compromised. And, if not, I will ask if I might be a surgical candidate. So, that said and done…there is still hope, on a number of different levels. And, as long as I have hope I am OK. Hope springs eternal someone once said and that works for me!!

Later.

 

Leave a Reply

