YOU’RE GOING TO COOK WHAT??

PouringCrawfish2Continuing some of the tales of our latest Texas adventure today, I can’t fail to mention our Superbowl Eve experience…our very own Crawfish Boil, compliments of Kelli and Brett.

They had introduced us to crawfish a couple of years ago when we spent a week-end in Galveston during one of our visits. We went to an outdoor bar where we were served two big buckets of crawfish. Talk about a “Big Gulp”! I had never eaten crawfish before and was not at all certain that I wanted to, but I’m a player so I decided to dive in. Well…partially dive in, I guess. I’m told that diehard crawfish eaters suck the head. I just could not wrap MY head around that so settled for just pulling the meat out of the tail. It was GOOD and I count that as one of my more memorable experiences. But this year, Kelli and Brett wanted to take it one step further. My sister and brother-in-law were driving up from North Padre for the Super Bowl and we were planning our own Saturday night Crawfish Boil. What an adventure!

With crawfish season just getting underway in Texas, Brett was able to go out and buy a HUGE bag of crawfish – 15 pounds to be exact. They put those in a big cooler and washed them thoroughly. They would be added to a very large pot of boiling water later. We would use the grill for that in order to keep the entire operation outdoors. Crawfish Boils can be messy affairs.

We added small red potatoes and small ears of corn to the water and brought it to a boil. The crawfish are added last. I have to admit that I had almost nothing to do with the preparation of this meal. This was all Kelli and Brett and they did an awesome job.  Since eating crawfish can be a messy experience it is best done outside with newspapers spread on the tables. So, that is what we did – except that we ate in the sun room rather than on the patio. February evenings can still be a little cool.

They brought in large platters of the delicious critters and we all just dug in. Does this not look like a great adventure? Like many other things, it is as much about the experience as it is about the food. It was a first for most of us and what a great time we had.

As I said yesterday, retirement is not a time to just sit back and rock. It is a time to get out there and explore – to experience new things. It’s a time to have fun and enjoy life. And that is exactly what we are doing.

Later.

 

4 thoughts on “YOU’RE GOING TO COOK WHAT??

  1. Sort of like me with my first Oyster in New Orleans. And yes, like you, I’d try it. Definitely no head sucking for me either. But isn’t it just a little like eating a big bug? I’ve heard they’re like lobster, but lots of work for little meat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

