Smoky Bacon Chili

Smoky Bacon Chili – love the stuff. And, I just happened to mention that on Facebook last night. I had actually forgotten the fact that it is a Paleo recipe until my son Matt reminded me.

So while walking on the treadmill this morning, I got thinking about that. My treadmill time is my quiet time. It’s when I think about things I should be doing or writing, etc. I’m kind of weird that way. I don’t work out to music or reading a book or watching TV. I like my quiet time. And, this morning I realized two things. One – right next to the treadmill is an elliptical, which never gets used. I tried it a few times right after we got it and found it very difficult. It has just sat there quietly next to the treadmill ever since. For years! So, I decided that this year I will give it another chance. I may or may not change my opinion of it, but everyone deserves a second chance, right?

And, while I do a pretty good job of preparing healthy meals, I’m sure I can do better. So, that brings me back to the Smoky Bacon Chili. It is a Paleo recipe and I sort of do Paleo but sort of don’t. If you’re not familiar with the Paleo lifestyle, my understanding of it is that it means reverting back to the foods that our bodies were meant to consume and to process. This means, I think, eating seafood, meat from animals that have been properly raised, vegetables, fruits, nuts and healthy oils and fats. Doesn’t sound too bad. It also means avoiding all grains, legumes, dairy, refined sugar, refined or hydrogenated oils and processed foods. That’s the part I’m not necessarily crazy about.

But, I want us to enjoy retirement to it’s fullest, so one of my new projects this year will be spending time trying out more of the recipes that support a healthy lifestyle. If a recipe contains wild and crazy ingredients, it won’t make the cut. But, if, like Smoky Bacon Chili, there is nothing about it that is not to love, it will. And, we will still eat grains sometimes and legumes, too, for that matter. I love my yogurt, so dairy stays too. I WILL give the elliptical another shot, but I will never be a workout fanatic nor will I be a diet fanatic. However, a little effort is better than none at all. Right?

So, last night was Smoky Bacon Chili. Tonight, maybe a chopped seafood salad. If you’re interested in the chili recipe, check it out here. You can just scroll down past the crap about the purse if you want. And, if you’re interested in learning more about Paleo, check out Against All Grain. I’m not a big fan of the few baking recipes I’ve tried, but there is a lot of good, healthy eating here. Let me know how it goes.

Next up, oil pulling!! 🙂

Later.

One thought on “Smoky Bacon Chili

Leave a Reply

