Stephen King

IMG_1698I have just finished reading Stephen King’s book, On Writing, and found it to be very interesting. Some of his better insights I have shared through my professional Facebook page over the past several weeks. Another, that I read yesterday is the basis for this blog post.

“The scariest moment is always just before you start. After that, things can only get better.” – Stephen King, On Writing

This is so true. I had a terrible time getting started, in spite of the fact that I have been kicking around the idea of one day telling this story ever since I began my first blog in December of 2009. It is unbelievable how many things can surface to hold you back. For years, it was just that I was working full-time so did not have the time to focus like I would need to if I were to write a book. But, once I retired and, seemingly had the time, it still took me months before I was able to actually get started.

I think that a lot of it was self-doubt. I had great difficulty believing that I could ever have the ability to do this. That is one reason why I have so enjoyed reading books on the writing experience itself, written by several successful authors. They validated all of those doubts I was having and, in a sense, gave their permission to have them…just not to let them stop you.

At the end of his book, Stephen King summarized what he had hoped to get across to readers – to me. “Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy. Some of this book – perhaps too much – has been about how I learned to do it. Much of it has been about how you can do it better. The rest of it – and perhaps the best of it – is a permission slip: you can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will. Writing is magic, as much the water of life as any other creative art. The water is free. So drink. Drink and be filled up.”

I am so excited to share that, as of this morning, I am now working on Chapter Four of my book. The hardest part was definitely just getting started. The second hardest part was writing Chapters One, Two and Three, because they deal with events that happened prior to the time that I began my blog. From here on out, I have something to refer to and to fall back on rather than having to rely on gut-wrenching attempts to recall events and emotions that happened six years ago. Most of what happened from that point on is documented. It will be interesting because I am still working on coming up with a format that will allow me to incorporate those posts and comments into the book. And, most interesting, will be re-reading it. I have not gone back and read any of it since it was written. But, piece by piece, it will now be re-read, re-written and transformed into book format. “Onward and upward” as one of the classiest ladies I know always says. Onward and upward!!

Later.

One thought on “Stephen King

Leave a Reply

