A Bit More Fit

I’m feeling just a BIT more Fit today. Why?

Well, it’s been nearly two years now since I bought my Fitbit and not once, in all that time, have I reached their magical goal of 10,000 steps in one day. OK, OK. I know that many of you are gasping in disbelief since you blow that number out of the water on a daily basis. But I’m embarrassed to say that I never have – until yesterday.

I have come close many times, but have never gone over the top. So, reaching that goal was added to my bucket list. For those who don’t know, when you join Fitbit, the default goal they set for each member is the magical number of 10,000 steps a day. And, apparently that is not a number that they just pulled out of the air. The Japanese first started using the 10,000 steps a day number as part of a marketing campaign to help sell pedometers. Since that initial campaign, however, medical authorities around the world have agreed that 10,000 is a healthy number to aim for.

IMG_1357So when I woke up yesterday, I decided that was the day. And, there it is. For me, this is not necessarily a goal for each and every day. It is more of a symbol… kind of like “This is my fight song – take back my life song.” I had somewhat of a routine when I was working. Not a great routine, but a routine, nonetheless. We had a walking moai at the office which I would try to participate in whenever possible. I made it a point to take the stairs rather than the elevator whenever we had meetings or training upstairs. But, now I’m out of that routine and I need to establish a new one. So, that is what I plan to do. Yesterday, I broke through that 10,000 step mark. Not a big deal for many, but a milestone for me and I’m owning it!

Later.

Leave a Reply

